lola at mum's

One week ago today, on August 13, 2009, my mother lost her battle with cancer.  She passed away at home surrounded by her family.  We took her home from the hospital 13 days prior so that she could be at home with her family, her gardens, her dog, her home.  This was what she, and all of us, wanted and I believe that it was the best thing.  It wasn’t easy, providing palliative care for her at home, but the alternative was just unthinkable.

I won’t go into huge detail about those last 13 days but I will say that the health care givers in Quebec, and in the Knowlton/Brome region specifically, are AMAZING.  I cannot say enough good about them, truly.  I will be forever grateful to them.

Her funeral was on Tuesday and it was lovely – a private family service with a memorial planned for later in September.

I miss her more  than I can possibly say.

