I was going to write this morning about the hugely idiotic people I encountered this weekend – um throwing empty beer kegs off Cleveland Dam? stupid-head, white suburban 20-something boys are complete and utter idiots and yes, that was me who called the RCMP – that’s our water source you dough-heads!!!!  not to mention the salmon spawning below – and I won’t even go into the whole drinking and driving on a Sunday afternoon idiocy …

right, guess I had to get that out of my system

moving on … to the Golden Globes

I don’t normally watch awards shows beyond the always entertaining parade of fashion at the beginning but last night I did and am not sorry to have done so – so fun!  Here are the ebst bits, according to me:

  • Kate Winslet – EVERYTHING!  her dress (loved and have to have), her obvious adoration of her husband and Leo, the fact that she forgot Angelina Jolie’s name
  • Alec Baldwin
  • Ricky Gervais – drinking a pint onstage – love it!! and he’s simply brilliant
  • Mickey Rourke – not normally a fan (he just looks dirty) but he nearly tripped getting up on stage and he was just obviously so happy (and hammered) it made me smile
  • Bruce – specifically his comment about being in competition with Clint Eastwood
  • the most gorgeous couple of the night – Drew and Jessica – say what you will about Drew’s hair, makeup and dress, I thought she looked fabulous!  and Jessica Lange?  I think maybe the fact that she has a child with that sexy Russian ballerina and has possibly the sexiest play-write EVER as a husband does lots for her confidence – she has actually let herself age appropriately – LOVE that
  • Susan Sarandon and her blatant plea to keep her diamonds (no kidding, I want them too!)
  • Johnny Depp – now here’s something I don’t understand – that woman who won, Sally Hawkins.  First of all, she beat Meryll Streep (??!!) and then she got on stage to be given an award by JOHNNY DEPP and didn’t pay him any attention?  Excuse me???!!! I guess the fact that she obviously hasn’t eaten anything in the past 8 months (that’s some SCARY skinny stuff going on there!!) has addled her brain but good because I can assure you, if given the opportunity I would grope that man like nobody’sbusiness – I mean COME ON
  • Colin Farrell – yum
  • Hollywood Stylists – do they hate their clients? if not and they just truly have no taste then Glenn Close, Renee Zelwegger, Maggie Gyllenhal (among others) you should really fire them – I mean really, here they are working with massive budgets (they all get the dresses for free anyway, no?) and they show up looking like that?  it’s just wrong on so many levels

so yeah, my horrendous mood caused by frequent run-ins with complete and utter IDIOTS this weekend was briefly abated by the grand distraction of the Golden Globes

Happy Monday!

