for anyone who knows me the fact that I have been concerned with my weight since time began is no revelation – it’s a real part of who I am and of why I do a lot of the things that I do

LOTS of therapy hours have been, and will likely continue to be, devoted to this subject

but that’s not what this post is about – this post is about diets and the insanity that surrounds them

Oprah and her staff have just very publicly done the 21 day cleanse as prescribed by  Kathy Freston in her book Quantum Wellness  – hell, she even “blogged” about it and raved about how not hard it was, etc

well of course not – you had the author’s private chef preparing all of your meals and your snacks for you, not to mention that you publicly declared your intentions to literally millions of people – and who’s gonna cave or fail with that kind of attention?? 

I don’t actually have any issue with the type of eating plan described by  Ms. Freston- the vegan or vegetarian lifestyle can be very healthy and fulfilling

but a 21 day cleanse and you are transformed?  um, no

others have publicly jumped on the cleanse bandwagon as well – most notably in the blogging world, Heather Armstrong.  Last week she posted that such a drastic change in her diet had caused her to become really, really sick and so had stopped the cleanse

while others have jumped down her throat and called her weak and a quitter, I think it was very brave of her to 1.  tell her audience about embarking on the cleanse to begin with and 2. to then admit that she had gone off it

a couple of friends of mine started the “recleanse” cleanse today and encouraged me to join them – I passed

“but you’ll feel so good”  “you’ll loose weight”  “it’s not crazy or anything”

1.  I am sure I would feel good, for a while, but at what cost?

2.  of course I will loose weight – the menu plan that goes with the cleanse makes for a 1,000 calorie a day diet – at 5’9 and at my current weight an EXTREME fat loss diet plan calls for 1500 MINIMUM

3.  not crazy?  probably not but what happens at the end of the 7 days?  right back to your old ways and the weight comes back on

I’m not judging them for doing it – I am sure that cutting sugar, dairy, caffeine, alcohol, etc. from their diet for even a week will be great for them – how could it not?

however, NOT for me – for one thing, I have a tendency to get rather obsessive when on a restrictive diet (I once spent 6 months on 500 calories a day, weighing each and every piece of food that went in my mouth)

for another, it just doesn’t make sense to me

that said, I am starting a 30-day plan for myself tomorrow based on a 1500 calorie, 5 meals per day schedule

my goal is to drop 2 sizes by July 30

I may from time to time outline what my plan is, how it is going, what I’m struggling with, where my emotions are at

for now, here is a sample menu for 1 day:

BREAKFAST

Smoothie:  1/2 cup frozen strawberries, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 1 banana, 1/2 cup non-fat yogurt, ice (225 calories)

SNACKS

1/2 cantaloupe, 1 cup non-fat cottage cheese (265)

LUNCH

salad:  1 cup shredded carrots, 1 cup shredded red cabbage, 1 cup chopped celery, 1 cup chopped cucumber, 3 oz shredded poached chicken, extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar (300)

SNACK

1 cup grapes, 1/4 cup almonds (320)

DINNER

2 cups spinach, 1 chopped tomato,  3 oz poached shredded chicken, raw sunflower seeds, extra virgin olive oil, balsamic vinegar (300)

and lots and lots and lots of water – I already drink at least 3 litres a day

we’ll see what happens ….

 

