came a lovely weekend …

Friday night I cooked a delicious meal – porcini crusted fillets, caramelised scallion mashed potatoes, butter lettuce salad followed by double-cream goat brie, fresh Bartlett pear (red) and DARK chocolate truffles, paired with a delicious Cab – and enjoyed it with a very lovely friend and we had a wonderful evening.  You know, one of those evenings when one minute it’s 10 p.m. and before you know it it’s 1:30 a.m. and you have to kick him out because you have to be up and out by 9 a.m.?  It had been a long time since we had spent any real time together so this was just about the perfect evening.

Saturday morning, after taking mutts 1 & 2 out for their morning constitutional, I took my landlords’ daughter for her birthday mani/pedi (her first!) and then for lunch at her fave restaurant – Burgoo.  The mani/pedi was just what my wine -head needed and it was kind of fun to spend the day with an 11 year old.

Saturday evening found me in the company of mutts 1, 2 & 3 with the remains of the 3 bottle of cab from the night before and the newly-purchased “Elizabeth:  the Golden Age”.  Clive Owen dressed in puffy shirts and tights – need I say more?

Sunday broke sunny and gorgeous so the 4 of us embarked on a LONG hike through  the forest and the canyon and up into the snow – I am so very lucky to live where I do!  3 hours later we came home, the dogs collapsing in contented heaps around the living room and I settled in to the couch with the left-over masheds and clicked on “Shop Girl”.  Gorgeous film but man I sobbed, and sobbed, and sobbed.  Subject mater hitting a little too close to home?  maybe …

the weekend topped itself off with another small hike with friends who then took me for a late lunch/early dinner “linner” at our local and by the end of the evening I found myself once again surrounded by mutts 1, 2 & 3 and settling in to watch Brothers & Sisters before collapsing in my newly-linened bed.

not an especially exciting or thrilling weekend, but after the craptasticness of the week before, it was perfect

Happy Monday!

