While perusing my usual internet newsfeeds, scanning various paper headlines and half-listening to the tv news I had a thought (shocking, I know, but it does happen occasionally):  what makes something or someone newsworthy? and further, why do we (and by “we” I mean the general public, not necessarily the “we” that is and my friends and all you lovely and very intelligent and superior people who read this) care about certain things and people and not others? 

for example, can someone please explain to me why Ann Coulter continues to share oxygen with the rest of us?  why are trees being killed and electricity being wasted by the toxic waste product that comes out of her, um for lack of a better word, brain? To quote her:   “If we took away women’s right to vote, we’d never have to worry about another Democrat president. It’s kind of a pipe dream, it’s a personal fantasy of mine, but I don’t think it’s going to happen. And it is a good way of making the point that women are voting so stupidly, at least single women.”

nice 

and she is making news; A LOT

there’s the whole Britney, Paris, Lindsey, Posh, etc., etc., etc. syndrome that I won’t go into except to suggest that maybe all the attention is a good part of the reason they do what it is they do?  Not exactly a groundbreaking thought I realize, but whatever – as a society we are obsessed with celebrity, always have been and always will be

and then this morning I was reading on another regular read of mine, I’m not a girl, not yet a wino, about how the choice of a 28 year old American man to have a vasectomy was all over he news – WTF??  A guy gets snipped and it’s news??  I don’t get it

watching CNN and that other CNN – CNN Headlines – show hosted by that God-awful woman, Nancy Grace is akin to having my fingers nails ripped out 1 by 1 – she is like the broadcasters’ answer to Tammy Faye Baker – that voice!  And that hair!! And that attitude!!!  Sorry for the abuse of exclamation points, but she uses them CONSTANTLY and it drives me silly. (you may be asking why I watch it and I generally don’t, but sometimes whine surfing on by I get sucked in and stay as I cannot tear myself away form the utter fiasco that it on the screen – riveting like a train wreck …) 

all that to say that I don’t really have a point at all, but am ,merely perplexed and confused and more than a little concerned as to who or what determines the “news” – is it an American phenomenon and by the mere afct of proximity we in Canada are subject to it?  Or is it global and just the way things are?

