Last Saturday night I had dinner with my cousin and his wife at ViJ’s, one of my favourite (and lots of there people’s favourite, too) restaurants in Vancouver.  Of ViJ’s, the NYT had this to say: “Dynamic Indian cuisine unmatched by anything I’ve tried, even in London’s Michelin-starred Indian restaurants.”

 My sister and her beau were to join us but unfortunately could not make it; they are moving to Toronto at the end of the month and the dinner was to be a goodbye and good luck celebration.  So we decided to try again this weekend, this time out at our cousins’ place in Abbotsford.

 Always up for a challenge, I suggested recreating the meal at home, with help from ViJ’s amazing cookbook.  On the menu Saturday night were the following:

 Sauteed Argugula & Spinach with Paneer and Roasted Cashews
Garam Masala-Sauteed Portobello Mushrooms in Porcini Cream Curry
Beef Short Ribs in Cinnamon and Red Wine Curry
Marinated Lamb Popsicles with Fenugreek Cream Curry
Savoury Raw Jackfruit
Green Onion and Coconut Chickpea Curry
Nan, Pompadoms and Basmati Rice

In a word, DELICIOUS! (if I do say so myself).  There are pictures, but again, still picture-posting-impaired so they will have to wait. 

Word of warning, however — if you plan to try this, and start drinking wine while cooking at 5:00 and the dinner doesn’t make it to the table until, oh I don’t know 9:30 or so, there is a chance, even an ever so slight one, that a dish (chickpea to be precise) may get left behind in the microwave and not be remembered until 4 the next afternoon.  I’m just saying.

 next time we’ll try the Cassava Fries …

