There has been rather an abundance of late of posts regarding “breaking up” with friends or ending “unhealthy” friend relationships.  We have all had them – the situational friend, the college roommate friend, the boyfriend’s friend’s girlfriend friend, the girl who lived next door friend, etc. Sometimes these friendship are extremely intense for a short period of time and then just fizzle out, having run their course.  Sometimes they go on for years, kind of in the periphery of your life and when they end you really don’t give them much thought.

 There are those friendships you develop with women that start off fabulous and supportive but turn jealous, vindictive and mean.  I am sure every woman over the age of 16 has been involved in at least one of those friendships. They hurt and can be very, very damaging.

 I have done my own fair share of breaking up with friends and been broken up with more than once (that I know of) and it hurts.  But we persevere and continue to develop friends and loose friends and nurture those friendships that matter.

 This weekend was quite intersting to me in this regard.  I went over to Vancouver Island to visita very good girlfriend of mine,  to celebrate the departure of the last vestiges of her soon-to-be-ex-husband: his pickup truck that has been sitting in their driveway, blocking very valuableretail space, had finally been sold.  Definitely reason to celebrate.  My friends has had a very tough year, seeing her marriage come to a rather dramatic end after 10 years and then having her father die of prostate cancer this past January.  I truly admire her strength and am unbelievably proud of her.  I love this woman and value her friendship immeasurably.

When I was dropped off at the ferry terminal this afternoon my mind turned to another friend of mine.  Someone I have lost touch with for reasons likely known to each of us but never spoken.  Her parents live in Nanaimo and I had a funny feeling that she might be on the same ferry as me.  The ferry was crowded and as I was searching for a seat I heard someone call out my name.  It was her.  I smiled, sat down and asked how she was.  She started to cry; her father had had a heart attack and passed away two weeks ago.  We hugged and it was like no time had passed.  We chatted for the 2 hour ferry ride, re-exchanged digits and promised to get together this week.  It is a promise I intend to keep.

