Last week I was at the receiving end of a rather light-handed invitation:

“I still have that extra spot booked at surf camp. Why don’t you come?”

I was then sent the URL’s for both the camp and flight information.

Reasons not to go:

  1. can’t afford it
  2. the thought of spending the better part of a week in a bathing suit in public fills me with a huge sense of dread
  3. passport out of date (though could get one in 5 days for a fee)
  4. can’t afford it
  5. not clear on the sleeping arrangements

Reasons to go:

  1. hello, surfing in Mexico for a week
  2. away from here for a week
  3. not clear on the sleeping arrangements
  4. it could quite possibly be very fun and would make for a great story

So, this is my dilemma. The sane and rational side of my brain says: “Under no circumstances do you go to Mexico to surf camp with that person at the end of October”. The fun and reckless side says “WTF —go, you idiot!! You can find the money, you have the time coming, you’re over 18, what/who will it hurt??”

Currently the sane side is winning.

